S K I N

Capture d’écran 2021-10-08 à 10.47.34.png

D I G I T A L   I N S T A L L A T I O N

Like an exquisite three-dimensional corpse, whose layers would be at the same time choreographic, musical, theatrical, this polymorphic piece questions creation in its relation to the moment.

 

Rather than striving for the elaboration of a final form, Mutant is a building in the making that will never cease to be. According to this principle, which borrows from the surrealist movement the idea of automatic writing, freed from the control of thought, Mutant is a constantly evolving creation whose engines are none other than bodies, their environment and their encounter within this environment.

 

The shape that will appear will then be one of the possible answers to the question posed by this research: what mutations does the body go through in contact with what surrounds it?

ARTISTIC DIRECTION, DIRECTION AND CHOREOGRAPHY JULIEN GAILLAC

CHOREOGRAPHY ASSISTANT ASSISTANT EVA ASSAYAS

PERFORMERS ADÈLE BORDE MANON DUBOURDEAUX, ANOUK VIALE

MUSICAL DIRECTOR AND COMPOSER ARNAUD DUPRAT

IMAGES FLORA MATHIEU, EMILE KIRSCH, JULIEN GAILLAC

Capture d’écran 2021-10-14 à 19.01.49.png

The Collectif Scale is a group of creatives whose research and artistic proposals have been oriented for several years on the possible interactions between different mediums: music (Chloé, Lucie Antunes), light architecture or kinetic movement.  For this film, they proposed to the dancer choreographer, Julien Gaillac, a collaboration by confronting him with a robotic arm.  One tries to reproduce the gestures of the other and vice versa. The man becomes precise, mechanical while the machine, it tries to soften with lightness. The two companions then engage a duo in unison, organic and poetic.  

This video is the perfect visual illustration of Pianoïd's musical project, a duet between pianist Edouard Ferlet and a machine driving a second piano. A solo enhanced by a virtual being who increases the range of possibilities tenfold. A variation on the eternal man / machine relationship and its possibilities that Edouard Ferlet sums up as follows: “Man has created robots to reproduce his gesture. With Pianoïd, I use the robotic phrase to inspire me, and go towards the unimaginable (…) The machine comes to life and surprises me. The music then becomes an organic dialogue. "

S K I N

Capture d’écran 2021-10-08 à 10.47.34.png

C O L L E C T I F   S C A L E
É D O U A R D   F E R L E T

Film SKIN réalisé en collaboration avec le Collectif Scale et Édouard Ferlet.

Il s'agit pour nous de la première pierre d'un projet expérimental à travers lequel nous cherchons le point de rencontre entre corps robotique et corps vivant. Au coeur d'un dispositif simple, épuré, nous voulions constater la poésie qui peut s'échapper de ce dialogue. Quand l'un se rapproche de l'homme et l'autre de la machine. C'est de cette manière que Édouard Ferlet à composé la musique. Ce titre s'appelle SKIN, morceau à retrouver sur son nouvel album Pianoïd.

PRODUCTION LABEL MÉLISSE

CO-PRODUCTION ET RÉALISATION COLLECTIF SCALE

CHORÉGRAPHIE ET INTERPRÉTATION JULIEN GAILLAC

MUSIQUE ÉDOUARD FERLET / ALBUM PIANOÏD

Avec le soutien du Centre des Arts d'Enghien-les-Bains.

Capture d’écran 2021-10-14 à 19.01.49.png

Le Collectif Scale est un groupe de créatifs dont les recherches et les propositions artistiques sont depuis plusieurs années orientées sur les interactions possibles entre différent médiums : la musique (Chloé, Lucie Antunes), l’architecture lumineuse ou le mouvement cinétique. Pour ce film, ils ont proposé au chorégraphe danseur, Julien Gaillac, une collaboration en le confrontant à un bras robotisé. L’un tente de reproduire les gestes de l’autre et inversement. L’homme devient précis, mécanique tandis que la machine, elle, tente de s’assouplir avec légèreté. Les deux compagnons engagent alors un duo à l’unisson, organique et poétique. 

Cette vidéo est la parfaite illustration visuelle du projet musical de Pianoïd, un duo entre le pianiste Edouard Ferlet et une machine pilotant un second piano. Un solo augmenté par un être virtuel qui décuple le champ des possibles.Une variation sur l’éternel rapport homme/machine et ses possibilités qu’Edouard Ferlet résume ainsi : « L’homme a créé des robots pour reproduire son geste. Avec Pianoïd, j’utilise la phrase robotique pour m’inspirer, et aller vers l’inimaginable (…) La machine prend vie et me surprend. La musique devient alors un dialogue organique. »